Molon Labe: State Bans Popular AR-15 Accessory—Not a Single Person Complies

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
By Paul Martin

State police were shocked to find that after banning bump stocks and threatening violators with 5 years in prison, not a single resident has complied.

By Rachel Blevins
May 29, 2018

The state of New Jersey has become the latest to ban bump-stocks for firearms, and despite strict threats to owners who refuse to turn their newly illegal devices over to police, not a single resident has complied with the new law.

The legislation banning the popular A-15 accessory, Senate Bill 3477, went into effect immediately after it was signed into law by Gov. Chris Christie in January, and it gave residents 90 days to “voluntarily surrender any bump stock in their possession to a law enforcement agency.”

The bill criminalizes the possession or sale of “bump stocks,” which it defines as “a device designed to attach to a semi-automatic firearm in order to fire shots in rapid succession in a manner that simulates an automatic firearm.” This new law adds to an existing state law banning guns that have been deemed as “assault rifles.”

“Under current law, it is a second-degree crime to possess an assault firearm or part or combination of parts designed or intended to convert a firearm into an assault firearm. This bill makes it a third-degree crime to possess a bump stock, regardless of whether the person is in possession of a firearm, and provides that the penalty for possessing a bump stock is to run consecutively with the penalty for possessing an assault firearm. The bill also establishes a third-degree crime of manufacturing, transporting, shipping, selling, or disposing of a bump stock. A crime of the third degree is punishable by three to five years’ imprisonment, a fine of up to $15,000, or both.”

Despite the fact that New Jersey residents who are caught with bump stocks could face up to 5 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines, reports have claimed that not a single bump stock has been turned in, even though the deadline to turn the newly illegal accessories over to police was last month.

New Jersey is not alone. Massachusetts became the first state to ban bump stocks earlier this year, and even though the state’s new legislation threatens violators with up to 18 months in jail, only four people have complied by voluntarily surrendering their bump stocks to police.

The Rest…HERE

Leave a Reply

Join the revolution in 2018. Revolution Radio is 100% volunteer ran. Any contributions are greatly appreciated. God bless!

Follow us on Twitter