Seven nations including Turkey and Pakistan ban people crossing the border from Iran after eight people die from coronavirus and 43 are infected

Sunday, February 23, 2020
By Paul Martin

Iraq, Pakistan, Turkey, Jordan, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait have imposed bans
Eight people in Iran have now died from the new Covid-19 coronavirus
Iraq has barred Iranians from entering its country altogether

23 February 2020

Seven countries have imposed bans on people entering from Iran after the country announced that eight people had died from the new Covid-19 coronavirus and 43 have been infected.

Iraq has barred Iranians from entering the country altogether, Pakistan has suspended almost all traffic across the border with Iran and Turkey has temporarily closed its land border today.

Eight people have been refused entry to Turkey from Iran since Friday, when the country introduced health checks on travellers at frontier crossings.

Jordan also began denying entry of non-Jordanians coming from Iran and South Korea today.

Armenia is the latest country to close its border with Iran. The country will close its borders for two weeks and is suspending air traffic.

Saudi Arabia has ordered anyone travelling from Iran to wait at least 14 days before entering the kingdom as it seeks to prevent the spread of the virus to the Muslim pilgrimage sites of Mecca and Medina.

It has also barred its residents and citizens from travelling to Iran and China.

Kuwait has also suspended flights to Iran and is barring ships from Iran from docking at its ports. Kuwait said it is evacuating 750 Kuwaiti citizens on five flights.

Kuwait’s state-run news agency reported on Saturday that Kuwait health officials were sent to Iran, in coordination with Iranian counterparts, to conduct medical checks on Kuwaitis departing Iran, but that Iranian authorities denied the Kuwaiti health officials entry.

Infected travellers from Iran already have been discovered in Lebanon and Canada.

Lebanon’s first case of the new virus was discovered on a flight from the Iranian city of Qom this week.

The Rest…HERE

Comments are closed.

Join the revolution in 2018. Revolution Radio is 100% volunteer ran. Any contributions are greatly appreciated. God bless!

Follow us on Twitter