Twitter suspends Alex Jones for one week: Conspiracy theorist is banned from social network just hours after he claimed his website was taken OFFLINE by a cyber attack

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
By Paul Martin

Alex Jones encouraged his supporters to get ‘battle rifles’ ready against media
Jones won’t be able to tweet or retweet from his account for the next seven days
News comes after the InfoWars website went down for several hours yesterday
According to staff at the website, one of multiple servers was kicked offline

PHOEBE WESTON
DAILYMAIL.COM
15 August 2018

Twitter has suspended the account of far-right conspiracy theorist Alex Jones for one week after he violated the company’s rules against inciting violence.

The ban was imposed after InfoWars creator Jones tweeted a link to an online video calling for supporters to get their ‘battle rifles’ ready against media and others.

Austin-based right-wing broadcaster Jones, who believes the 2012 Sandy Hook Elementary School mass shooting was a hoax, won’t be able to tweet or retweet from his personal account for the next seven days, although he can still browse Twitter.

The news comes as it was revealed the InfoWars website went down for several hours yesterday from noon CST (18:00 BST/ 13:00 ET).

According to staff working on the news website, one of multiple servers was kicked offline, which they believe was caused by a targeted cyber attack.

InfoWars claims the attack is the latest in a string of plots to remove its commentary, as ‘social media giants try to silence political speech ahead of midterms’.

Facebook, Apple, YouTube and Spotify have all taken down material published by Alex Jones in recent weeks, reflecting a more aggressive enforcement of hate speech policies.

The Rest…HERE

Comments are closed.

Join the revolution in 2018. Revolution Radio is 100% volunteer ran. Any contributions are greatly appreciated. God bless!

Follow us on Twitter