War of Claims: A New Battle for the Arctic Unfolds

Wednesday, August 5, 2015
By Paul Martin


As Russia files its revised Arctic shelf expansion claim with the UN seeking to increase its Arctic shelf borders, let’s have a look at what the whole story is actually all about.

The Arctic consists of land, territorial waters and international waters. All land and territorial waters in the Arctic belong to one of five countries: Russia, Canada, Norway, Denmark (through its autonomous territory Greenland) and the United States (via Alaska).

Control of the area is regulated by international law, as with other parts of the Earth. Under the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UCLOS), international waters, including the North Pole and the region of the Arctic Ocean surrounding it, are not owned by any country.

The Rest…HERE

Comments are closed.

Join the revolution in 2018. Revolution Radio is 100% volunteer ran. Any contributions are greatly appreciated. God bless!

Follow us on Twitter