Wednesday, June 9, 2010
By Paul Martin


By Kelleigh Nelson
June 9, 2010

The first Continental Congress was in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1774 and had delegates from twelve of the thirteen colonies that became the United States. It was convened in response to acts passed by the British Parliament. The delegates organized an economic boycott of Great Britain and petitioned the king for a redress of grievances.

The second Continental Congress met in 1775 in Philadelphia and the Revolutionary War had already begun. The movement towards independence was growing. The Congress established the Continental Army in June of 1775 and issued the Declaration of Independence in July 1776. They had designed a new government in the Articles of Confederation which were ratified in 1781.

The ratification of the Articles became the Congress of the Confederation which met from 1781 to 1789. After the War, it declined in importance and the delegates elected to Congress preferred to serve in state government. When the Articles were replaced by the Constitution, the Confederation Congress was superseded by the U.S. Congress.

The men that founded our country, fought for liberty, lost everything they owned, and gave us this Representative Republic were, for the majority, God fearing men. Even those who were deists, (considered then to be non-believers) knew their Bibles and God’s Word as well as studied preachers of today, if not better. They were guided by the Holy Scriptures.

The Rest…HERE

Leave a Reply

Join the revolution in 2018. Revolution Radio is 100% volunteer ran. Any contributions are greatly appreciated. God bless!

Follow us on Twitter